Chennai Super Kings team profile

parimalJuly 26, 2021

IPL 2020: Chennai Super Kings team profile – CSK Full squad, CSK players to watch out for

Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2020: Last season MS Dhoni-led his team to yet another final but their old nemesis, Mumbai Indians, managed to stop them again. This was CSK’s fifth loss in an IPL final and third at the hands of MI.
The Chennai Super Kings is a monster and when thrown they are nearly impossible to stop. MS Dhoni-led his team to yet another finale, but their longtime nemesis, the Mumbai Indians, managed to stop them again. This is CSK’s fifth defeat in the IPL final and third to MI. As the team manages to maintain its core, CSK will once again be a serious title contender. As with the last few auctions, CSK spent little. Australian pacemaker Josh Hazlewood and Englishman Sam Curran were brought in, as well as veteran leg spinner Piyush Chawla.
Team: Narayan Jagadisan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, K.M. Asif, Ravindra Jadeja, M. Vijay, MC Dhoni (v), Josh Hazlewood, Kedar Jadhav, Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Takhar, Imakhar Tahira, Imakhar Tahira, Shard du Plessiqell, Duane Bravo, Lungi Ngidi, Sam Curran, Monu Kumar, Shane Watson, Sai Kishore

Players to watch out for:

MS Dhoni: 

This is possibly the biggest IPL for MS Dhoni in years. The former India captain must prove his bat’s skills to have a chance to make the India squad for the T20 World Cup at the end of the year. Dhoni had a great season in 2019 showing that his power punching abilities are still intact. But a prolonged absence from the international arena means that the seasoned campaigner needs to do his best this year.

Suresh Raina: 

Suresh Raina
has been an important cog in CSK since its inception and has been one of the teams’ top scorers in almost all seasons. The left-hander finished the 2019 season with 383 runs in 17 games, making it his second-lowest total points of the season. With the Team India ship long gone, the IPL is Raina’s only ticket that remains valid, and he must deliver it to his crew.

Imran Tahir: 

The South African foot spinner scored 26 wickets last season, the highest for a spinner in a single IPL season. Leggings will again be a big threat on the slow and sluggish surface of Chennai. His partnership with Harbhajan Singh will again be something to look out for.

Shane Watson:

A major player in the Australian tournament is nearing the end of his illustrious career and would like to exit the game in style. Watson’s masterly punch inspired CSK for the 2018 title, but he could not repeat it in the same year. Watson has managed to revive his international career with the IPL and would like to draw the curtain down on his glittering playing days with another stellar season.

Duane Bravo: 

The West Indies spent most of last season on the bench with injury and is looking forward to leaving this year. Back with the Windies, Bravo’s change of pace with the ball was a big weapon. He continues to be one of the biggest winners of short-format matches.
Ambati Rayadu (R)Batsman2.20 crore
Monu Singh (R)Batsman20 lakhs
Murali Vijay (R)Batsman2 crore
Ruturaj Gaikwad (R)Batsman20 lakhs
Suresh Raina (R)Batsman11 crore
MS Dhoni (R)Wicket Keeper15 crore
Jagadeesan Narayan (R)Wicket Keeper20 lakhs
Asif K M (R)All-Rounder40 lakhs
Dwayne Bravo (R)All-Rounder6.40 crore
Faf du Plessis (R)All-Rounder1.60 crore
Karn Sharma (R)All-Rounder5 crore
Kedar Jadhav (R)All-Rounder7.80 crore
Ravindra jadeja (R)All-Rounder7 crore
Shane Watson (R)All-Rounder4 crore
Sam CurranAll-Rounder5.50 crore
Deepak Chahar (R)Bowler80 lakhs
Harbhajan Singh (R)Bowler2 crore
Imran Tahir (R)Bowler1 crore
Lungisani Ngidi (R)Bowler50 lakhs
Mitchell Santner (R)Bowler50 lakhs
Shardul Thakur (R)Bowler2.60 crore
Piyush ChawlaBowler6.75 crore
Josh HazlewoodBowler2 crore
R. Sai KishoreBowler20 lakhs

*R- Retained

Comments are closed.